attributes to emulate.

Today’s Relief Society lesson was

Our Saviour, Jesus Christ

Teachings of Presidents of the Church: Joseph Fielding Smith, (2013), 48–57

At the beginning of this chapter we read…. “I try to love Him, our Redeemer, above everything else. It is my duty to. I travel up and down in this country as one of His special witnesses. I couldn’t be a special witness of Jesus Christ if I didn’t have the absolute and positive knowledge that He is the Son of God and Redeemer of the world.”

This phrase ‘…I try to love Him, our Redeemer, above everything else’ rang deep inside me and I realised that is something I would like to be able to feel, and to say. The words of this Prophet speak volumes of the man he was, of his dedication humility and service. Of Great perserverence. All attributes to emulate.

Like most of us I am more able to do this at times and less at others.

*I apologise if you have received any ads pop up as you’ve read this, apparently I have to purchase an opt out package. They are coming from WordPress. I have only just become aware of this. 

I’ve been pondering how to get this in place and hold it there; day in and day out?

Obviously daily scripture reading and prayer are significant steps. Getting to know what He taught, then embracing and living those teachings. More today than yesterday. Pushing back bad habits and worldly ways. Watching for the things that slip in under the radar. One must be ever vigilant.

We soon see the blessings of obedience are abundant. The increase in self confidence as we overcome the issues and draw closer to Our Elder Brother, Even Jesus Christ can be significant. This is but one blessing.

As we….’let virtue garnish thy thoughts unceasingly; then shall thy confidence wax strong in the presence of God…’ as in Doctrine and Covenants 121:45

We find then a greater light within us.

Locate this Provo Canyon sunrise image.

Speaking of Light, I pondered this during Sacrament meeting today.

It may be that even before Christ was the life of the world he was the light of the world. The one thing all men have in common is the light of Christ, the deep-seated, subconsciously remembered connection of our spirits to his. This light separates right from wrong, inherent good from inherent evil. Some call it conscience, some call it inborn morality, some deny it all together, but all of us have it (at least until it is snuffed out by sustained evil or intentional wickedness).       *Emphasis added by me

From ‘What Manner of Man’ (a weekly program for knowing and following Jesus Christ) By Richard and Linda Eyre.

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in 2014 Joseph Fielding Smith, Doctrine, Sabbath and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to attributes to emulate.

  1. wonderful Jane and thank you, I too ponder this lesson and weep a little for His sacrifice for me

Leave a Reply

