Today I have the lovely experience of being invited into the YM’s class my son was teaching.

Prior to leaving for church, I took an hour or so to do a little study on the subject of a ‘broken heart and contrite spirit’.

After I read all the scriptural references I could find, and some cross-referencing I did a little research…

and came across this Blog Alison Moore Smith: Mormon Momma

Now, I dont know Alison. But I am fairly certian she would say, should I/we ask

that she does not and cannot speak with more authority then a General Authority of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

However, that being said, I found that the expereince she shares and the personal insights gained

spoke plainly and powerfully, so that I read most of it with tears in my eyes.This especially…

‘Having a broken heart and a contrite spirit is not just being humble. It is not simply being willing to submit to God’s will. It is allowing the Redeemer’s atonement to change and transform not only your life but also your heart. It is letting go of the attempt to control your life and accepting what the Lord wants you to do. It is being willing to say, “I don’t understand why I have to go through this challenge right now, but I will continue to trust in Thy love and knowledge of my needs.’

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in Doctrine, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

