Sister Francis Monson

Down here we awoke (a few weeks back)  to the sad news of the passing of the wife of President Thomas S Monson. I cannot even imagine the grief that President Monson must be feeling.

The Deseret News reported ‘Frances Beverly Johnson Monson died Friday at 6:35 a.m., surrounded by family.’

Furthermore….’LDS Church President Thomas S. Monson visited his wife, Frances Monson, in the hospital on Thursday night with their daughter, Ann Monson Dibb. Sister Monson had been hospitalized for several weeks.

“Frances,” President Monson said, “tomorrow is May 17. It’s my father’s birthday, and it’s your father’s birthday.”

Ann’s heart skipped a beat.

“I had forgotten that,” Dibb said Friday. “And as soon as he said that, I thought, ‘Who knows what’s going to happen tomorrow?’ … That was an indication to me. It’s been almost 60 years since my mother has been with her father. It was time that they welcomed her home.”

I had set my alarm a few nights later and woke for the live coverage of the funeral service direct from Salt Lake City. 

These are a few of the screen shots I captured during the service.

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in PresidentThomas S Monson, Service, Special Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

